Marketing Leader of the Year 2017

Place Vote

Marketing Society Leader of the Year 2017

Winner Barnaby Dawe, Global CMO, Just Eat

Just Eat’s Barnaby Dawe has been at the vanguard of a home eating revolution, transforming the concept of the local takeaway meal— historically a Saturday night treat from the Chinese or Indian — into a digitally-led, branded experience that links 17m customers across the globe to a network of 67,000 restaurants.

Since joining the UK-based company in 2015, Dawe has been instrumental in evolving Just Eat’s positioning from a disruptive upstart into a market leader operating in 13 countries and with full year revenues up 52% to £376m in 2016.

Key to Just Eat’s growth is its mastery of technology. Dawe himself is something of a technophile and has embraced virtual reality, artificial intelligence and robotics.

His CV shows a marketer whose extensive media experience, at Sky, The Sun and Channel 4, has been of huge value.. While Just Eat is clearly a global brand, the business relies on its relationships with its local partners, and its ‘Tech Accelerator’ initiative to support food tech start-ups highlights its entrepreneurial approach.

Dawe understands that being a brand, and especially one with technology built into its DNA, requires vigilance and foresight. “It’s hard enough to predict how things will change in five years, let alone ten, given the pace of change,” he says.

Dawe epitomises the new breed of CMO, one that understands that the marketer’s role is changing and with it the nature of marketing itself. “We will see a lot more product managers and data scientists being integral to the marketing team in the next five years,” he says.



Presenting the shortlist for The Marketing Society Marketing Leader of the Year 2017. These are the brave marketing leaders that have been making a difference to our industry over the last year, growing their brands and championing their customers. The winner, voted by readers of Campaign and members of The Marketing Society was announced at the Society’s Excellence Awards on 14 June at The Artillery Gardens, HAC.


Submit your nomination before Wednesday 17 April.

* indicates a required field

Submit Nomination
  • Michelle McEttrick

    Group Brand Director, Tesco
  • Barnaby Dawe

    Global Chief Marketing Officer, Just Eat
  • Sara Bennison

    CMO, Nationwide
  • Leah Davis

    Head of Marketing, Team GB, British Olympic Association
  • Michele Oliver

    VP Marketing, Mars
  • Aline Santos

    Global EVP Marketing and Head of Diversity and Inclusion, Unilever
  • Mark Evans

    Marketing Director, Direct Line Group
  • Patrick Bousquet-Chavanne

    Executive Director Customer, Marketing and M&, Marks and Spencer